myspace012

INSIDE MY HEAD

Immortality

Men are haunted by the vastness of eternity and so we ask ourselves, will our actions echo across the centuries? Will strangers sit here on the hills, long after we are gone, and wonder who we were, how bravely we fought, how fiercely we loved?

TROY

I have watched Troy again (lost the number of times now). And the question came to my mind. What should we concentrate on?? Getting immortality (fame I mean) or living our life the way we want, oblivious to our urge to be known. I have to admit, I have given it a great deal of thought yet it seems so confusing.

A part of me wants to be known, it doesn’t want to just mingle with the earth and get lost in the ages. But there is another part of me who wants to enjoy what I have in hand, wants to value what I will lose in a few days. Which part should I go with? Now, if I choose to get known, it would be pretty difficult. In the modern times I could not probably take out a sword and go on beheading people like Achilles’ did, it would lead to immortality of course. People would say “Once there lived a man who grew crazy and when it got on him, he beheaded many people. My stories would be repeated through ages, my craziness rather than my story to be precise :). Well, if that be the case I would rather settle for nothing than be an immortal. Now, if I chose to enjoy what I have, I know I will regret for not even having tried. There would be a guilt which would rot my insides. But if I try, I know my mind will question again if it will be worth it, does it really matter if people of the coming age whom I don’t even know, remember me. The answer is no.

I know I may be wrong, but I think fame is not something to be worked for. It rather comes as a gift when you are extra ordinary. People will not remember you for having tried to be known but for who you were. What is needed is to improve ourselves as a person; I guess that’s what the ageless tones had bee n trying to tell us.

I think we should go on doing what we always believe in.

If we are good at it we will be known, if we are not good then why? We would have led a beautiful life, living like we always wanted. That’s great too, ain’t it? 🙂

And fame is temporary. We won’t be satisfied if we are not content with what we do, fame would then not matter. Fame would come and go but as I have said in my previous post, what matters are the ones with whom we would share all these things with, both success and our failure. I would say we should leave the thought for fame alone and go on living.

“For Fame may come and fame may go

But we go on forever”

I hope that Alfred Tennyson doesn’t mind. Have a great day 🙂

5 comments on “Immortality

  1. iarxiv
    06/04/2012

    Reading your article reminded me of Maslow’s hierarchy of needs. You know, the pyramid with the most basic physiological needs at the base, upon which you build safety, love, esteem and then finally as the pyramid narrows you’ve got self-actualisation. I guess in a sense the very pinnacle would be immortality.

    In this language, I interpreted your article and the preceding one as saying that conquering the pinnacle is fiendishly difficult and fiend-friendly if you haven’t worked your way through the middle layers. But then you can only work your way through the middle layers if you build them brick by brick patiently, prudently, and thoroughly. In the end the top layer of self-actualisation can only be built with a healthy dose of humility and self-examination. Thus immortality, in some abstract form or other, is achieved last and only if it is not actively sought.

    Paradoxically, those who seek immortality shall fail, and those who seek it not, well… those lucky souls don’t care either way.

    • bhaskaryya
      06/05/2012

      I couldn’t agree more with the last line……….people who get fame, don’t care about it. Because they never wanted it, they were just concentrating on doing things right
      And thanks for your note 🙂

  2. Mira Jay
    06/04/2012

    grow a diamond mind& a crystal core; your fame will be immortal

    • bhaskaryya
      06/05/2012

      so true…….working for fame while disregarding these basic values would seem very foolish, we should rather be working on these values

      and thanks for the comment 🙂

  3. Agree with you on this one!

    ~ E

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 06/04/2012 by in Humor and tagged , , , , , .
