myspace012

INSIDE MY HEAD

Few Words to Honor

If only I should die, think only this of me:

     That there’s some corner of a foreign field

That is forever England. There shall be

     In that rich earth a richer dust concealed;

A dirt whom England shaped, bore, made aware,

    Gave once, her flowers to love, her ways to roam,

A body of England’s, breathing English air,

    Washed by the rivers, blest by the suns of home.                                                                         

 

And think, this heart, all evil shed away,

    A pulse in the eternal mind, no less

        Gives somewhere back the thoughts by England given;

 Her sights and sounds; dreams happy as her day;

    And laughter, learnt of friends; and gentleness,

        In hearts at peace, under an English heaven.

-RUPERT BROOKE

One of the war sonnets, this work of Rupert Brooke had gained a lot of popularity. I read it many years ago; it was today when I was glancing through the book that my eyes fell on it. It has always held a very special place in my heart. The first three lines of the sestet has always been one of my favorites. Such great lines to describe his love for England, even as I read this I imagine him in uniform, sitting with a pencil in hand and thinking, as ship wages its way towards the war.

Well, talking of motherland, I came to my hometown for a vacation. I was brought up in a small town here. I was 16, when I went away for my studies. As much as I loved the new place, I still miss it. It’s so peaceful here. The place is very green, one of the rainiest place of the world. After working late into the night and living with the hush for months, when you come here for a vacation, this place would surely help you unwind. Here are few pictures.

A Rainy Day

Stormy Evening

Peaceful Sunset

 Have a great day 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 06/19/2012 by in life and tagged , , , , , , .
