myspace012

INSIDE MY HEAD

People who speak of Classics

I was surfing through the internet tonight when I found a very funny quote. It says, “Classic is a book which people praise and doesn’t read”. Come to think of it, I remember something (as I always do).

Some years ago, one guy asked me if I had read the book “Wuthering Heights”. I said no, I hadn’t. He told me to give it a read. And on he went to describe how good the book was, that it had very high literary value. I wanted to have some information about the plot and so I asked him. He said that he had just heard about it, he hadn’t read it till then. My reaction was “You haven’t read this!” This was outrageous, he was biting my ears off about the book for fifteen whole minutes and he hadn’t read it. But still I didn’t say anything, I just nodded (you can see I am patient). But my head was screaming at him, “Every goddamned novel reader knows that it is good, you don’t fucking need to tell me that”

(About a year and half later I managed to get an e-book. Till now, I read it almost four times. The book is very good)

Anyways, I am not going to write a review of the book, because I think most of you have read it. Talking of reviews, I have got a lame habit. Every time I come across a new author, I just won’t read the book till I have read the review. That’s not the lame part; the lame part is that if I like the plot of the book I would start cursing the critic because he spoiled the fun of such a good plot by telling me the whole freaking story, even the twists, especially the twists. I would promise myself never to read a review before a book, but the next time I would probably be going to the website of the same critic.

Sorry for deviating! Where was I? Yea, I have met people who love classics (just like the above person) even before they have read it, I mean they would so convincingly convince you that it is a good book that never in your wildest dreams would you think that he haven’t even read it. I don’t like it at all when people don’t like something yet they pretend to like it just to be liked by the likeable part of the society. Jesus Christ! If something is a classic it just means that the work is good, it doesn’t mean that you have to like it. No one is going to harass you, condemn you or drive you out of your country just because you have an opinion.

Classics like “Pride and Prejudice” and “WutheringHeights” are from another generation. They would introduce you to a whole new world, a world which is old. That’s why sometimes we are reluctant to start it, but I am sure you would love it when you are into it.

So people, you don’t need to go on praising something that you don’t admire. It won’t make you any less of a novel reader if you haven’t read a classic, or if you won’t praise it.

Have to go now. Have a great day ahead 🙂

Before I go, I wanted to tell you about a book. All of you must have heard of it, “War and Peace” by Leo Tolstoy. It is a beautiful book, the plot is very good and have been deeply praised by many. It remains one of Tolstoy’s best works. It is the stroke of a genius. After reading it you come to know what a great writer he was.

I would love to explain the plot but I haven’t really read it. It’s just that I heard about it a lot. 🙂

2 comments on “People who speak of Classics

  1. Michelle Proulx
    06/22/2012

    Hahaha I love a good rant. Thanks for making my day 🙂

    • bhaskaryya
      06/23/2012

      I am glad you liked it.
      Thanks for visiting 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 06/22/2012 by in Humor and tagged , , , , , , .
